Saturday Morning Keynote Speaker

Take Action: Innovating Solutions to Society’s Problems

Dr. Juan E. Gilbert

Juan E. Gilbert, Ph.D.

Andrew Banks Family Preeminence Endowed Professor & Chair; Computer & Information Science & Engineering Department; Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering, University of Florida (PAESMEM 2012)

Dr. Juan E. Gilbert is The Banks Family Preeminence Endowed Professor and Chair of the Computer & Information Science & Engineering Department at the University of Florida where he leads the Human Experience Research Lab. In 2012, Dr. Gilbert received the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics, and Engineering Mentoring (PAESMEM) from President Barack Obama. He is a Fellow of the American Association of the Advancement of Science, a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors, and an ACM Distinguished Scientist and a Senior Member of the IEEE. Dr. Gilbert was recently named one of the 50 most important African-Americans in Technology.


Saturday Afternoon Keynote Speaker

Broadening Participation Focus: Preparing a diverse generation of community college STEM educators

Dr. Benjamin Flores

Benjamin C. Flores, Ph.D.

Professor of Engineering, University of Texas at El Paso; UT System LSAMP Director; (PAESMEM 2008)

Dr. Benjamin C. Flores is Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Texas at El Paso. He earned a Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from Arizona State University (1990). He has held several administrative positions including Dean of the Graduate School, Associate Dean of Graduate Studies for the College of Engineering, Chair of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department, and Interim Chair of the Computer Science Department. Dr. Flores is an expert in retention strategies for undergraduate and graduate students in the STEM disciplines. He has been the Principal Investigator on multiple National Science Foundation grants and cooperative agreements. Currently, he is Director of the University of Texas System Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation. He has conducted multiple presentations and seminars in the US, Mexico and South America addressing institutional models for student access and success in higher education. Dr. Flores was the recipient of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics, Engineering Mentoring in 2010. Other honors include the ABET President's Diversity Award (2006), Excelencia in Edication Award (2006), Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board Star Award (2005), IEEE Millennium Medal for outstanding contributions in engineering education and membership to the Electrical Engineering Honor Society (Eta Kappa Nu) and the Engineering Honor Society (Tau Beta Pi). Source: